A family friend recently found out first hand that Colorado has a law prohibiting motorists from driving for extended periods of time in the left-hand, or passing, lane.
"The Left Lane Law" actually hit the books in July 2004, but as the officer who pulled over our friend noted, "I'm not going to give you a ticket today because we are still educating the public about this."
The law states: “A person shall not drive a motor vehicle in the passing lane of a highway if the speed limit is 65 miles per hour or more unless such person is passing other motor vehicles that are in a nonpassing lane or turning left, or unless the volume of traffic does not permit the motor vehicle to safely merge into a nonpassing lane.”
By the way, the black and white photo above, circa the 1960s, comes courtesy of the state's Left Hand Lane Law brochure
. Perhaps the highway patrol held onto this photo for more than four decades just waiting for the legislature to act on this critical issue.
On one hand, I am always annoyed when someone is putt-putting along in the passing lane on the highway, but, wow ... did we really need a law? I'm picturing that Colorado's legislature just got bored one afternoon while trying to solve a real traffic issue -- like the ludicrously long weekend highway lines to the ski areas
-- and decide to tackle something easy, like keeping people out of the left lane.
By the way, violations carry a $41 fine and 3 points against your license. So, move it on over, bub!
Labels: Colorado, highway, highway driving, state patrol